Living Ghosts and Mischievous Monsters

Chilling American Indian Stories
by Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Author), Weshoyot Alvitre (Illustrator)
Excerpt
EPUB
55 loans, One at a time
Details

Perfect for fans of Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark! A shiver-inducing collection of short stories to read under the covers, from a breadth of American Indian nations.

Dark figures in the night. An owl's cry on the wind. Monsters watching from the edge of the wood.

Some of the creatures in these pages might only have a message for you, but some are the stuff of nightmares. These thirty-two short stories -- from tales passed down for generations to accounts that could have happened yesterday -- are collected from the thriving tradition of ghost stories in American Indian cultures across North America. Prepare for stories of witches and walking dolls, hungry skeletons, La Llorona and Deer Woman, and other supernatural beings ready to chill you to the bone.

Dan SaSuWeh Jones (Ponca Nation) tells of his own encounters and selects his favorite spooky, eerie, surprising, and spine-tingling stories, all paired with haunting art by Weshoyot Alvitre (Tongva).

So dim the lights (or maybe turn them all on) and pick up a story...if you dare.

Publication date
September 07, 2021
Publisher
Page count
176
ISBN
9781338681635
Paper ISBN
9781338681604
File size
38 MB

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy