In the Beautiful Country

by Jane Kuo (Author)
Excerpt
EPUB
26 loans, One at a time
Details

For fans of Jasmine Warga and Thanhhà Lại, this is a stunning novel in verse about a young Taiwanese immigrant to America who is confronted by the stark difference between dreams and reality.

Anna can’t wait to move to the beautiful country—the Chinese name for America. Although she’s only ever known life in Taiwan, she can’t help but brag about the move to her family and friends.

But the beautiful country isn’t anything like Anna pictured. Her family can only afford a cramped apartment, she’s bullied at school, and she struggles to understand a new language. On top of that, the restaurant that her parents poured their savings into is barely staying afloat. The version of America that Anna is experiencing is nothing like her dreams. How will she be able to make the beautiful country her home?

This lyrical and heartfelt story, inspired by the author’s own experiences, is about resilience, courage, and the struggle to make a place for yourself in the world.

Publication date
June 21, 2022
Publisher
Page count
320
ISBN
9780063119000
Paper ISBN
9780063118980
File size
5 MB

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy