Three Souls

by Janie Chang (Author)
Excerpt
EPUB
26 loans, One at a time
Details

A finalist for the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize

A dazzling historical-fiction debut perfect for readers of Amy Tan and Lisa See

Civil war China is fractured by social and political change. Behind the magnificent gates of the Song family estate, however, none of this upheaval has touched Leiyin, a spoiled and idealistic teenager. But when Leiyin meets the captivating left-wing poet Hanchin, she defies her father and learns a harsh reality: that her father has the power to dictate her fate. Leiyin’s punishment for disobedience leads to exile from her family, an unwanted marriage and ultimately a lover’s betrayal—followed by her untimely death. Now a ghost, Leiyin must make amends to earn entry to the afterlife. But when her young daughter faces a dangerous future, Leiyin has to make a heart-wrenching choice.

Publication date
August 20, 2013
Publisher
Page count
496
ISBN
9781443423922
Paper ISBN
9781443423915
File size
1 MB

About Us

About De Marque Work @ De Marque Contact Us Terms of Use Privacy Policy